New compact n-gauge layout help

29.01.2021 21:14 (zuletzt bearbeitet: 29.01.2021 22:51)
#1 New compact n-gauge layout help

Hi everyone,

Sorry for writing in English, I am American and have been living in The Netherlands for 8 years. I have traveled much throughout Germany and have gained inspiration from this site so thought I would ask for some help. I purchased an N-gauge DCC starter set by Fleischmann, a steam loco and a bunch of track to get started. As a kid, I had a large HO layout but never completed the scenery, and have been building scale RC model airplanes for 34 years so I have some background but consider myself a newbie with model railroading.

I would like to build a small layout roughly ~80cm x 150cm so that it is a manageable size. I've been studying layouts over the past month and have decided that I'd like:
- a main line for continuous running for at least 1 train
- a small siding for a freight train so I can play with some operations
- some elevation change.
- a German or Swiss Alps setting
- I want an idealistic wonderland type feel (I respect the operational and very realistic layouts but it's not for me), so not sure what epoch, maybe 1960s but again, for me it would be fun if it was a blend and timeless in a sense.
- I want to try to capture some of my special memories of Europe into elements of the scenery, such as a small through station, an alpine inn, etc